TOWN OF CLIFTON PARK COMMUNITY ARTS AND CULTURE COMMISSION One Town Hall Plaza Clifton Park, NY 12065

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

April 28, 2008

Contact: Laura W. Andruski (518) 383-8277

NEW ARTS COMMISSION TO HOST ROUNDTABLE Artists and supporters to discuss "wish list for the arts" in Clifton Park

CLIFTON PARK, New York – The Town of Clifton Park Community Arts and Culture Commission will host an Arts Roundtable on Tuesday, May 20 from 7:00 to 9:30 PM at the historic Grooms Tavern, 290 Sugar Hill Road, Rexford, New York 12148.

The event will provide an opportunity for dialogue among artists, arts supporters and members of the Town of Clifton Park's newly-formed Community Arts and Culture Commission. Attendees are encouraged to share their "wish list for the arts" in Clifton Park, as the Commission plans to incorporate the community's wants and needs into its strategic plan.

"Whether it's arts programming or events, physical facilities, arts promotion, kids' activities – we want to know what the people of Clifton Park want and need regarding arts and culture in our community," said Laura W. Andruski, chair of the Commission.

The May 20 Roundtable is open to all who live, work or play in Clifton Park, and are interested in the future of arts and culture in the Town. "We're looking forward to speaking with visual artists, performing artists, parents, seniors, artists affiliated with a group, art supporters – anyone who enjoys the arts in Clifton Park," said Andruski. Refreshments will be served at the event.

Formed by a resolution of the Town Board of Clifton Park in January 2008, the Community Arts and Culture Commission works to develop community awareness of, and preserve and enhance, the performing arts, visual arts and cultural resources in the Town. Commission members are Laura W. Andruski (Chair), Dian Dippold, Marty Egan, Bob Goepfert, Thomas Heckert, Paul Konye, Cynthia Nagle, Laura Thompson and Alexandra Verrigni. Sarah S. Burke serves as secretary, and Sanford Roth is liaison to the Town Board.

For more information, contact Commission Chair Laura W. Andruski at (518) 383-8277 or <u>LWAndruski@aol.com</u>.